2017 CIE awards announced

No Comments

The 25th annual Committee for Integrity Enhancement Essay Awards Program was held on April 10, 2017 in the Northside Middle School Auditorium. Students from all schools in Muncie and Delaware County, including private and home schools, were invited to write on the topic, “Why Is It Important to Show Integrity in Working to Achieve a Difficult Goal?”

The keynote speaker for the ceremony was Robert Scaife, pastor of Union Missionary Baptist Church and former detective with the City of Muncie Police Department where he led the taskforce that focused on gang activity.

This year 1,057 essays from 32 schools were submitted. Preliminary readers select two winners from each school. From these school winners, the committee selected the top three county winners in each division: elementary (grades 4-5), middle school (grades 6-8), and high school (grades 9-12).

School winners each receive $20 for their efforts. Third-place county winners in each division receive $100, second place $150, and first place $250.

Elementary Division winners: First place, Emma Judge, 4th grade, West View Elementary (Teacher: Miss Hunter); second, Ella Pittman, Yorktown Elementary; third, Nicki Southerland, Royerton Elementary.


Emma Judge, 1st Place
Ella Pittman, 2nd Place
Nicki Southerland, 3rd Place

Middle School Division winners: First place, Lea Alexander, 8th grade, Yorktown Middle School (Teacher: Robert Reid); second, Brady Hunt, and third, Laura Fowler, both from Delta Middle School.

Lea Alexander, 1st Place
Brady Hunt, 2nd Place
Laura Fowler, 3rd Place

High School Division winners: First place, Matthew Zirkle, 12th grade, Heritage Hall Christian School (Teacher: Bob Winebarger); second, Ben Martin, Woodward Academy; third, Haley Bennett, Delta High School.

Matthew Zirkle, 1st Place
Ben Martin, 2nd Place
Haley Bennett, 3rd Place

In addition to essay winners, each year the committee presents Personal Integrity Awards.  Four individuals and one couple received this honor:

Roger Lavery, Dean, Ball State University College of Communications, Information and Media. Lavery was a key contributor to the Muncie-Delaware County economic development strategy, known as Vision 2016 and now Vision 2021. He serves as chair of the Image Committee with the Chamber.

Matt Luce, head basketball coach and teacher at Wapahani High School.  His nomination mentioned such attributes as “commitment to excellence, respect for others, accountability, fantastic teacher.”

David and Judi Reece, volunteers extraordinaire who have donated their time as co-chairs of Update Learning through High Street Methodist Church,  Prevent Child Abuse of Delaware County, America’s Hometown Band, VISTA (an organization that completes income taxes at no charge), and the Veterans Day Flag Celebration at Minnetrista.

Magi Sikora, CPA and certified information technology professional with Estep, Doctor and Company PC. Sikora is Board Chair of the Muncie-Delaware County Chamber of Commerce, board member of the Muncie YMCA, and serves at Westminster Presbyterian Church on the missions committee and as VBS director.

Tara Smalstig, general counsel with Dennis, Wenger, and Abrell.  Smalstig has served on the boards of Secret Families Christmas Charity, Muncie Children’s Museum, Muncie-Delaware County Chamber of Commerce, Cornerstone Center for the Arts, Muncie YMCA, Altrusa/Athena Young Professionals, among others.

Roger Lavery
Matt Luce
David & Judi Reece






Magi Sikora
Tara Smalstig






The Committee for Integrity Enhancement also has a Facebook Page. Go on and “Like” us!

Congratulations to all!

2017 CIE Essay Winners

The Committee for Integrity Enhancement consists of local citizens working together to promote and recognize “integrity” in the lives of area residents of all ages in the Muncie/Delaware County area. The committee is supported through private community donations. For more information, or to nominate someone for the personal integrity award: Committee for Integrity Enhancement, P.O. Box 764, Muncie, Ind. 47308.

Photographs by Chelsy Ray



Previous Post
2016 CIE awards announced
Next Post
Speaker for 2018 Awards Ceremony Announced

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.