2023 CIE Awards Announced

No Comments

The Committee for Integrity Enhancement presented its 31st Essay Contest Awards Program on Monday, April 17, 2023, 6:30 p.m. at Muncie Central High School Auditorium. The keynote speaker was Laura Williamson. She has been involved with Muncie Civic Theatre as an actor and director since 2008. She was the Board President from 2013-15, and since 2016 she’s served as Civic’s Executive Artistic Director. She holds a B.A. in Theatre from The University of Michigan-Flint and an M.A. in Drama Therapy from The University of Kansas.

More than 1,200 Delaware County students in grades 4 through 12 wrote essays on the topic “How is my personal life showing integrity?”

Winning students in the Elementary and Middle School Divisions received cash prizes: $250 for First Place; $150 for Second Place; $100 for Third Place. New this year: High School Division winners received cash prizes: $1,000 for First Place; $500 for Second Place; $250 for Third Place. Read the First Place winning essays here.

Elementary School Division winners: First place: Piper Lyons, Cowan Elementary (Teacher: Mrs. Whitehair; Principal: Lendon Schwartz); second: Zane Gray, Albany Elementary (Teacher: Mrs. Iliff; Principal: Ryan Parrott); third: Adalyn Carter, Albany Elementary (Teacher: Mrs. Iliff; Principal: Ryan Parrott).

Middle School Division winners: First place: Jensen Boyd, Delta Middle School (Teacher: Nakkia Patrick; Principal: Doug Marshall); second: Deborah Olatunji, Northside Middle School (Teacher: Allson Harris; Principal: Ben Williams); third: Mairin Gesler, Yorktown High School, (Teacher: Suzy Fox; Principal: Todd Strong).

High School Division winners: First place: Dametrius Hall, Heritage Hall High School (Teacher: Mr. Les Wallace, Principal: David Stein); second: London Kreamelmeyer, Burris High School (Teacher: Tammy Underwood; Principal: Abigail Comber Brewer); third: Ava Capes, Daleville High School (Teacher: Deborah Bookout; Principal: Eric Douglas).

C.I.E. also presented the Personal Integrity Awards recognizing Delaware County residents who have distinguished themselves as individuals of high principles and good character.

Two individuals received this honor:

  • Chris Willis
  • Sandy Sigo

The Committee for Integrity Enhancement also has a Facebook Page. Go on and “Like” us!

Congratulations to all!

Previous Post
Laura Williamson speaker for 2023 CIE Awards Ceremony
Next Post
Deadline for Personal Integrity Award Nominations

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.