2021 C.I.E. Awards Announced

No Comments

The Committee for Integrity Enhancement presented its 28th Essay Contest Awards Program in a Facebook LIVE event, Monday, April 19, 7:00 p.m.

Watch it on our YouTube channel!

C.I.E Integrity Awards Ceremony – YouTube

More than 800 Delaware County students in grades 4 through 12 in 34 schools wrote essays on the topic In what ways have I shown integrity during a crisis, or seen it displayed in others?”  Winning students in the Elementary and Middle School Divisions received cash prizes: $250 for First Place; $150 for Second Place; $100 for Third Place. New this year: High School Division winners received cash prizes: $1,000 for First Place; $500 for Second Place; $250 for Third Place. Read the First Place winning essays here.

Elementary School Division winners: First place: Kael Waterman, Yorktown Elementary (Teacher: Erin Jackson; Principal: Wesley Thornburg); second: Evan Adams, Cowan Elementary (Teacher: Cynthia Whitehair; Principal: Lendon Schwartz); third: Craig Ulery, Heritage Hall Elementary (Teacher: Mrs. Chae; Principal: David Stein II).

Middle School Division winners: First place: Chae Punzal, Pope John Paul II (Teacher: Hattie Isenberg; Principal: Elisha Schlabach); second: Hannah Clark, Yorktown Elementary (Teacher: Shanan Riegle; Principal: Heath Dudley); third: ____, Youth Opportunity Center (Teacher: Mr. Slagle; Principal: Craig Standish).

High School Division winners: First place: Chantal Sowers, Wes-Del High School (Teacher: Pamela Meier-Fisher, Principal: Adam Purdue); second: Melissa Riegle, Yorktown High School (Teacher: Wendy Jones; Principal: Stacey Brewer); third: Natalee Smith, Heritage Hall High School (Teacher: Mrs. Winebarger; Principal: David Stein II).

C.I.E. also presented the Personal Integrity Awards recognizing Delaware County residents who have distinguished themselves as individuals of high principles and good character.

These individuals received this honor in 2021:

  • Kathy Hottinger, teacher at Albany Elementary
  • Amy Cullum, Spanish teacher at Wes-Del Jr Sr High School


The Committee for Integrity Enhancement also has a Facebook Page. Go on and “Like” us!

Congratulations to all!

Previous Post
C.I.E Integrity Awards Ceremony
Next Post
Deadline for 2022 Personal Integrity Award Nominations

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.